CIAMC Ghana bestows honorary membership on distinguished professionals

12 March 2019 2 min. read

The Chartered Institute of Administrators and Management Consultants in Ghana (CIAMC) has awarded Honorary Memberships to a number of distinguisher professionals, including Ing Nana Ato Arthur, who is a former Central Region Minister of the country and a Member of Parliament. 

Arthur received the prestigious membership in “recognition of Dr Arthur’s distinguished leadership and innovation in the area of Local Governance and Expert in Development Planning in both the public and private sectors across the country and beyond,” read a statement from CIAMC.

Currently, Arthur is the Vice President of the Commonwealth Association for Public Administration and Management in the UK, where he helps ensure that members of the association are offered access to the latest knowledge and training with respect to good governance.CIAMCHis work as Central Regional Minister contributed to a fundamental aspect of Ghana’s economy, particularly as the country makes its place as a centre of economic activity in the region of West Africa. Political stability and other attractive features have made Ghana a lucrative country to invest in, which has contributed to substantial growth recently.

The focus during this growth story has been very much on the grassroots and small and medium businesses, who are expected to boost economic activity in the country. In order to ensure the realisation of this goal, a strong and stable local government infrastructure is crucial.

“Ghanaians should expect more transformation in the Local Government Service this year which will act as a catalyst for the development of other sectors in government,” said Arthur, upon receiving the recognition. Other senior professionals at the event endorsed this opinion.

The event was attended by a number of illustrious personalities, and a number of other Honorary Memberships were bestowed. Martin Eson-Benjamin, who is currently handling the research and administrative aspects of the Compact2 Project was also among the recipients.